Halloween 2013

Wow…I’ve been sucking at updating our website.  Here’s the boys at Halloween this year.  They wanted to be a Peashooter and a Sunflower from Plants vs. Zombies.  I went with the paper mache on a balloon technique again this year, since I could work with much smaller balloons than last year!  The costumes were pretty easy to make this time.  Henry insisted that his Sunflower costume be a mask, but he threw a wrench into our plans when he decided that the costume should NOT be a mask when he wore it to school for his Halloween party.  We duct-taped it to the top of a bicycle helmet and called it good.  We should have done the same thing with Steven’s, because his constantly fell, covering his face, while he was trick-or-treating.  Our original plans were that I would also dress up as Crazy Dave and Chris would be a zombie, but we just ran out of time!

 

Categories: Family, Pictures | Tags: , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Halloween 2013

  1. rick

    Awesome – great job on the costumes. Put a smile on our faces
    Rick

  2. Amanda Moore

    Hi there! Love your peashooter costume. After searching the internet high and low on how to make one this year for my son, I’ve decided yours is the best and seems relatively easy :) Any pointers? What did you use for the nose? I assumed you just attached it to the balloon, then paper mache’d over it?

    • Thanks, Amanda! I’m really hoping I don’t have to do paper mache for the third year in a row this year! ;-) For the Peashooter’s nose, I used a yogurt container (a big one). I cut off the bottom and just fit it right over the balloon where it is tied closed. Then I attached it using paper mache (lots of layers!) I didn’t think the paper mache would stick to the plastic surface of the yogurt container, but I didn’t have any problems.

      I’d love to see a picture of yours when it is finished! Michelle at thegozes@mac.com

      • Oh, and pointers…as far as paper mache goes, this was a pretty easy one to make. Just give yourself plenty of time between layers for paper mache to dry. I think this one took about 3-4 layers, then at least two coats of paint. So don’t wait until the day before Halloween to make it! The only thing I wish I had done differently was figuring out a more comfortable way for it to sit on Steven’s head. The think ski cap worked fairly well, but it did fall over his eyes a several times while he was trick or treating.

  3. thick ski cap…not think ski cap!

    • Amanda Moore

      Thank you! Great suggestions. Also, was your son looking through the yogurt container to see? It didn’t seem like you had any holes cut in the paper mache for his eyes? Or did he mostly wear it on top of his head like one of the pics?

  4. We did cut the balloon out where the yogurt container attached to it, but while he was trick or treating, it stayed (mostly) on top of his head. For running around like a goofball during the day, that was all he needed to see, but at night it would have been too dark.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

