Fennel, Apple, and Greens Salad

Fennel, Apple and Greens Salad
serves 2 (as a main dish), serves 4 (as a side salad)

2 Tablespoons walnut pieces
2 Tablespoons lemon juice (I think I’ll use 1 Tablespoon next time)
2 teaspoons walnut oil  (I used hazelnut oil, because it’s what I had, but I think olive oil would be fine too)
1 shallot, minced
1/2 teaspoon anchovy paste
1/2 teaspoon salt (I’m going to cut this down to 1/4 teaspoon next time)
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 bunch of arugula, trimmed (define “bunch”.  I used to handfuls)
1/2 bunch of watercress, tough stems discarded
1 small fennel bulb, quartered, cored and thinly sliced
1 small Granny Smith apple, unpeeled, cored and thinly sliced
1/2 cup dried cherries or cranberries

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2. Place walnuts on baking sheet.  Bake until toasted, about 5 minutes.

3. To make dressing, combine lemon juice, oil, shallot, anchovy paste, salt and pepper in large bowl; whisk until blended.

4. Add arugula, watercress, fennel, apple and dried cherries or cranberries to dressing; toss to coat.  Divide salad among plates and sprinkle with walnuts.

Served with sliced, cooked chicken breast on salad.

Results: At first, this salad was just OK, until I was halfway finished and realized I had left out the walnuts.  Once I added the walnuts, this salad went way up in the good meter.  I’ll definitely make this again, because what else am I going to do with that tube of anchovy paste sitting in my refrigerator?

This recipe is from the Weight Watchers Points Plus Cookbook

Categories: Recipes | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

