Lamb Chops with Mushroom-Thyme Orzo

1 cup uncooked orzo
grated lemon zest (from one lemon)
8 oz cremini mushrooms, sliced
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons chopped fresh thyme
8 (2&1/2-ounce) bone-in loin lamb chops
3/4 teaspoon black pepper

1. Cook orzo according to package directions. Drain and transfer to a medium bowl; stir in lemon zest.

2. Meanwhile, spray a large skillet with cooking spray and set over medium-high heat. Add mushrooms and 1/4 teaspoon of the salt. Cook, stirring occasionally, until mushrooms are browned and tender, about 8 minutes. Add mushrooms and thyme to orzo; toss to combine.

3. Sprinkle lamb chops with remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt and pepper. Spray the mushroom skillet with more cooking spray and set over medium-high heat. Add lamb chops and cook, turning once, until medium, about 8 minutes.

Served with green beans.

Results: When we went on our Disney Cruise in October, Chris and I celebrated our anniversary by eating dinner at Palo, the adults-only restaurant on the ship. Chris had ordered the lamb chops, which were seriously amazing. Seriously.

I was able to find that recipe on-line, but before I attempt to make them, I thought I better try to cook lamb at least once at home. So I tried this recipe, which is really more about the orzo than the lamb chops. I used lamb chop sirloin, because the cute little chops with bones in them were outrageously expensive! The sirloin takes a little longer to cook than the recipe calls for, so keep that in mind if you try it. The orzo was ok, but adding the mushrooms turned it into something the boys wouldn’t eat.  I think lamb may be my new favorite meat, but I need to try a few more recipes before I tackle the Palo dish.  Now if I could just find the recipe for that delicious Pear Martini we had…

Recipe from Weight Watchers Points Plus Cookbook

Categories: Recipes | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Lamb Chops with Mushroom-Thyme Orzo

  1. Oh yes please, I think lamb is absolutely wonderful!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

