Steak with Blue Cheese Crust

Steak with Blue Cheese Crust
serves 2

1/4 cup panko breadcrumbs
2 Tablespoons reduced-fat blue cheese crumbles
1 Tablespoon fresh parsley, chopped
1 teaspoon fresh thyme, chopped
1 teaspoon olive oil
1/2 lb beef tenderloin, cut into two steaks
salt & pepper, to taste

1. Preheat oven to 450 degree F.  Combine bread crumbs, cheese, parsley, and thyme in a mixing bowl and set aside.

2. Heat the oil in a large cast-iron (or other oven-safe) skillet over high heat.  Season the steaks with salt and pepper.  Sear the first side of the meat for 3 minutes, until well browned.   Flip the steaks and top each with half of the bread crumb mixture, using your fingers to gently press it into the meat. Transfer the steaks to the oven to finish cooking. Cook for 5-6 minutes, until cooked to desired doneness. The bread crumbs will have browned nicely and formed a crust.  Let the steaks rest for a few minutes before serving.

Served with green beans and roasted red potatoes

Results: Normally, I don’t like to add anything to a good steak except salt and pepper. But this recipe had me at their use of the words “blue cheese.”  This was seriously delicious and so easy to make.  I believe Chris’s response was “Are you freaking kidding me?  That is so good!”  I only used about 1/2 of the panko mixture (I couldn’t fit it all on the steaks, in spite of my best efforts), but I left the list of ingredients as is.  Maybe less panko, but keep the blue cheese and herb amounts the same.  My only complaint (and you should NOT let this stop you from making this delicious meal) was that after the steaks came out of the oven, some of the panko soaked up the blood from the steak and it just looked creepy.  It didn’t taste weird, it just sort of grossed me out.  You can see what I’m talking about in the picture.  I guess I can never be a vampire.

This recipe was a community recipe (nice job, Jeff1224!) from Weight Watchers

Categories: Recipes | Tags: | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Steak with Blue Cheese Crust

  1. I see what you mean about the blood soak thing but I love it (I also like the photo – its enormous when you click on it!)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

