A valentine for us

Me (while emptying out Steven’s backpack): What’s this?


“I love you more than haircuts. Than school and Emily. And ice cream and candy. I love you more than Angry Birds. Than pie and Dylan and Kirby.”

Steven: Oh, that’s a valentine.
Me: For me? (I swear, there wasn’t a hint of desperation in my voice)
Steven: Well, it’s for all of you.
Me: It’s very sweet.
Steven: There are some things on there that aren’t true.
Me: There is something on here that you love more than me? (I swear there wasn’t a hint of distain in my voice)
Steven: A few things.
Me: And they are?
Steven: Dylan and Kirby. I love those things more than you.
Me: …

That’s right. My seven-year-old loves this guy more than me.

At least I rank higher than haircuts…

Categories: Family | Tags: | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “A valentine for us

  1. Pingback: Hallowhoops 2012 « thegozes

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

