Pasta Moussaka

Pasta Moussaka
serves 6 (I think 6 servings of the sauce would be a stretch.)

1 onion, chopped
2 gloves garlic, minced
1 pound ground lamb
2 teaspoons dried oregano (I used 2 tablespoons fresh, because I had it)
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1/2 cup reduced-sodium chicken broth
1/3 cup fresh parsley, chopped
1/4 cup white wine
3 tablespoons tomato paste
12 oz linguine or fettuccine
2 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese

1. Start a large pot of salted water boiling over high heat. Add pasta and cook until done. Drain and set aside.

2. Meanwhile, spray a large skillet with cooking spray and heat over medium heat. Add the onion and cook about 2 minutes. Add the garlic and cook, stirring, until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Add the ground lamb and heat until cooked through, about 3 minutes. Add the oregano, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt and pepper; cook until fragrant, about 15 seconds. Stir in the broth, parsley, wine and tomato paste; bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low and simmer, covered, about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Serve sauce over pasta and sprinkle with Parmesan cheese.

Results: Did this ever smell good! All those spices in the ground lamb were incredible. Don’t let the list of ingredients scare you off, most of them are spices you will likely have in your pantry. This was really delicious, and even Henry scarfed it down (although I did not tell him what kind of meat he was eating.) It’s pretty much a spaghetti sauce, but the lamb and spices just make it a bit different.

It was really easy to make (although I’m not going to give it the “super easy” tag, because it did require constant attention. Make sure you have everything chopped and pre-measured ahead of time to make this simpler to prepare.)

And, look at what my husband made for me:

It’s a light-box! It’s usually pitch-black by the time we eat dinner in the winter, so my pictures never come out as good as I want them to without using a flash, and I HATE using a flash because everything is too washed out. Hopefully now my pictures will be a little better. Or at least I won’t be able to blame anyone but myself. Thanks, Chris!

Recipe from Weight Watchers.

Categories: Recipes | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.